For a US accounting firm, the first buying decision is which work to outsource: custom writing, licensed or shared articles, or the software your team uses to produce and send an issue.
Choose a production model, then a shortlist
- Custom writing: Start with NewsletterAsAService for a researched issue built around one firm and audience. Service2Client also advertises commissioned articles alongside its monthly content; ask for a separate custom-writing quote.
- Licensed or shared content: Consider CPA Content+ if your team will select and assemble editable articles. Compare Checkpoint, Service2Client and IndustryNewsletters when you also want delivery tools. CPA Site Solutions describes a website-bundled newsletter; confirm its current package.
- DIY software: Consider Constant Contact or beehiiv when someone on your team owns research, writing and approval. Include that person’s time in the cost comparison.
These are scope-based starting points, not a quality ranking. Each link opens the provider’s review below.
To judge a proposed finished issue, see the complete illustrative short issue below. For broader formats, see our accounting newsletter examples.
What does each option include?
On small screens, each card shows the provider, content model, sending and price together. Expand details for the remaining scope and evidence. The wider table scrolls horizontally. Prices are not like-for-like totals.
Checkpoint Marketing for Firms (Thomson Reuters)
Accountant newsletters
- Content model
- Vendor editorial content; practice-area categories.
- Sending
- Automatic weekly distribution advertised.
- Price basis
- Price not stated on reviewed product page; request a quote.
Scope and evidence for Checkpoint Marketing for Firms (Thomson Reuters)
- Customization
- Template colors, fonts and layout. Bespoke authorship unverified.
- Reviewer
- Vendor describes expert content; named reviewer and firm approval workflow unverified.
- Turnaround / cadence
- Weekly distribution; setup and first-issue timing unverified.
- Setup / term
- Setup fee and minimum term unverified; ask vendor.
- Sample
- Ask for a current accounting issue and its source notes.
Last source check:
NewsletterAsAService
Single edition; twice-monthly or weekly plan
- Content model
- Our offer: researched, custom writing for one firm and audience, with source notes.
- Sending
- Single edition excludes ESP setup/sending. Recurring plans set up one ESP/list and schedule approved sends.
- Price basis
- $500 once; $750/month for 2 editions; $1,500/month weekly.
Scope and evidence for NewsletterAsAService
- Customization
- Firm context, branded HTML/plain text, subject lines and one consolidated revision round.
- Reviewer
- Editorial verification by us; a named firm approver. Legal/compliance approval excluded.
- Turnaround / cadence
- Within seven business days after complete intake; after verified payment. Recurring: 2 editions/month or weekly.
- Setup / term
- Single edition has no subscription; recurring plans are month to month. Full credit if you continue within 10 days of delivery.
Last source check:
CPA Site Solutions
Monthly Client Newsletter / Email Newsletter Marketing System
- Content model
- Prewritten monthly tax/financial articles; vendor describes CPA/MBA writers.
- Sending
- Official page describes an email newsletter system included with its website.
- Price basis
- Current newsletter-only or website-bundle price unverified; request scope and quote.
Scope and evidence for CPA Site Solutions
- Customization
- Personalization advertised; current newsletter editing controls unverified.
- Reviewer
- Writer credentials are vendor claims; named issue reviewer and approval workflow unverified.
- Turnaround / cadence
- Monthly content advertised; current send date and setup timing unverified.
- Setup / term
- Newsletter setup, bundle requirements and minimum term unverified.
- Sample
- Ask for a current emailed issue, not just website articles.
Last source check:
Service2Client / Mail Sprinkler
CPA email newsletter and mass email campaigns
- Content model
- Vendor writers supply monthly articles and an archive; custom articles available to order.
- Sending
- Automatic monthly sending or manual sending; contacts can be grouped.
- Price basis
- Standalone price unverified in reviewed source; quote custom writing separately.
Scope and evidence for Service2Client / Mail Sprinkler
- Customization
- Branded template; rewrite/delete copy, add your own articles or commission a custom piece.
- Reviewer
- Writer team described; reviewer credentials and compliance approval unverified.
- Turnaround / cadence
- Monthly standard articles; custom-article and setup turnaround unverified.
- Setup / term
- Custom-designed template advertised as free; minimum term and other setup costs unverified.
- Sample
- Ask for a standard issue and a commissioned article.
Last source check:
IndustryNewsletters
Accounting newsletters
- Content model
- Professionally written accounting article library; vendor can select content.
- Sending
- Scheduling and automated delivery advertised.
- Price basis
- Price not stated on reviewed accounting page; request a quote.
Scope and evidence for IndustryNewsletters
- Customization
- Firm branding, article selection and your own content; audience customization.
- Reviewer
- Named tax reviewer and firm approval workflow unverified.
- Turnaround / cadence
- Scheduling tools documented; first issue and editorial update timing unverified.
- Setup / term
- Setup charges and minimum term unverified.
Last source check:
Constant Contact
Lite / Standard / Premium
- Content model
- Firm-supplied writing; templates and AI copy tools. CPA editorial service unverified.
- Sending
- Platform sends; your team operates the account and applicable scheduling tools.
- Price basis
- Published starting prices: Lite $12, Standard $35, Premium $80/month. Contact count and billing basis affect cost.
Scope and evidence for Constant Contact
- Customization
- Email editor and templates; features vary by plan.
- Reviewer
- Budget for your own editor and firm approver; tax review service unverified.
- Turnaround / cadence
- Your production schedule; managed writing turnaround unverified.
- Setup / term
- Monthly/annual billing shown; confirm contact tier, add-ons and setup scope.
- Sample
- Request a template preview; a finished CPA issue depends on your content.
Last source check:
beehiiv
Launch / Scale / Max
- Content model
- Firm-supplied newsletter content; publishing tools. CPA editorial service unverified.
- Sending
- Email publishing platform operated by your team; automation depends on plan.
- Price basis
- Launch: $0/month, up to 2,500 subscribers. Paid cost depends on subscriber tier and billing period.
Scope and evidence for beehiiv
- Customization
- Newsletter builder, templates and website; capabilities vary by plan.
- Reviewer
- Your editor and firm approver; tax review service unverified.
- Turnaround / cadence
- Your production schedule; managed writing turnaround unverified.
- Setup / term
- Paid annual billing shown; verify monthly alternative and required features.
- Sample
- Build a test edition; request a platform preview for the plan you need.
Last source check:
CPA Content+
Entry / Starter / Pro / Enterprise article subscriptions
- Content model
- Licensed accounting, tax and business articles from a shared library.
- Sending
- Distribution, template design and reporting listed as additional services; confirm separate scope and price.
- Price basis
- $3,850/year for 12 articles; $5,500/year for 24; $8,250/year for 48; $9,350/year for 60. Articles, not finished newsletter editions.
Scope and evidence for CPA Content+
- Customization
- Editable Word articles; customization, firm byline and use on website, e-newsletter and social media advertised.
- Reviewer
- Vendor describes accountants, advisors and content professionals as writers; named issue reviewer and firm approval workflow unverified.
- Turnaround / cadence
- New articles added throughout each month; finished-issue production timing unverified.
- Setup / term
- Annual subscriptions shown; renewal, cancellation and use rights after the subscription ends unverified.
- Sample
- Request a complete article and an issue assembled from the licensed content.
Last source check:
| Product / plan | Writer / source model and customization | Sending | Price basis | Reviewer, timing and terms | Sample and primary evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Checkpoint Marketing for Firms (Thomson Reuters) Accountant newsletters | Vendor editorial content; practice-area categories. Template colors, fonts and layout. Bespoke authorship unverified. | Automatic weekly distribution advertised. | Price not stated on reviewed product page; request a quote. | Review details for Checkpoint Marketing for Firms (Thomson Reuters)
| Ask for a current accounting issue and its source notes. Last source check: |
| NewsletterAsAService Single edition; twice-monthly or weekly plan | Our offer: researched, custom writing for one firm and audience, with source notes. Firm context, branded HTML/plain text, subject lines and one consolidated revision round. | Single edition excludes ESP setup/sending. Recurring plans set up one ESP/list and schedule approved sends. | $500 once; $750/month for 2 editions; $1,500/month weekly. | Review details for NewsletterAsAService
| Complete illustrative short issue below; accounting newsletter examples for formats. Last source check: |
| CPA Site Solutions Monthly Client Newsletter / Email Newsletter Marketing System | Prewritten monthly tax/financial articles; vendor describes CPA/MBA writers. Personalization advertised; current newsletter editing controls unverified. | Official page describes an email newsletter system included with its website. | Current newsletter-only or website-bundle price unverified; request scope and quote. | Review details for CPA Site Solutions
| Ask for a current emailed issue, not just website articles. Last source check: |
| Service2Client / Mail Sprinkler CPA email newsletter and mass email campaigns | Vendor writers supply monthly articles and an archive; custom articles available to order. Branded template; rewrite/delete copy, add your own articles or commission a custom piece. | Automatic monthly sending or manual sending; contacts can be grouped. | Standalone price unverified in reviewed source; quote custom writing separately. | Review details for Service2Client / Mail Sprinkler
| Ask for a standard issue and a commissioned article. Last source check: |
| IndustryNewsletters Accounting newsletters | Professionally written accounting article library; vendor can select content. Firm branding, article selection and your own content; audience customization. | Scheduling and automated delivery advertised. | Price not stated on reviewed accounting page; request a quote. | Review details for IndustryNewsletters
| Public design samples; request a recent complete CPA issue. Last source check: |
| Constant Contact Lite / Standard / Premium | Firm-supplied writing; templates and AI copy tools. CPA editorial service unverified. Email editor and templates; features vary by plan. | Platform sends; your team operates the account and applicable scheduling tools. | Published starting prices: Lite $12, Standard $35, Premium $80/month. Contact count and billing basis affect cost. | Review details for Constant Contact
| Request a template preview; a finished CPA issue depends on your content. Last source check: |
| beehiiv Launch / Scale / Max | Firm-supplied newsletter content; publishing tools. CPA editorial service unverified. Newsletter builder, templates and website; capabilities vary by plan. | Email publishing platform operated by your team; automation depends on plan. | Launch: $0/month, up to 2,500 subscribers. Paid cost depends on subscriber tier and billing period. | Review details for beehiiv
| Build a test edition; request a platform preview for the plan you need. Last source check: |
| CPA Content+ Entry / Starter / Pro / Enterprise article subscriptions | Licensed accounting, tax and business articles from a shared library. Editable Word articles; customization, firm byline and use on website, e-newsletter and social media advertised. | Distribution, template design and reporting listed as additional services; confirm separate scope and price. | $3,850/year for 12 articles; $5,500/year for 24; $8,250/year for 48; $9,350/year for 60. Articles, not finished newsletter editions. | Review details for CPA Content+
| Request a complete article and an issue assembled from the licensed content. Last source check: |
What should you request before comparing quotes?
To compare quotes, give each vendor the same brief: audience, topic, issue frequency, contact count, approver and sending account. Request one complete recent issue, its source notes, the revision policy, the approval cutoff and a total that separates recurring fees from setup and custom work.
Checkpoint Marketing for Firms (Thomson Reuters)
Checkpoint combines vendor-supplied accounting content with automated distribution. Ask how much of an issue you can edit and how a late tax update is handled.
Ask before buying: Can our approver stop an automatic send, and can you show the sources behind a recent tax article?
Primary evidence: Newsletter product.
Practice Forward provides advisory tools and implementation support. For accountant newsletters, the product compared here is Checkpoint Marketing for Firms.
CPA Site Solutions
The official page describes monthly articles and an email system included with a CPA website. Confirm what the current package includes before comparing its price with standalone writing.
Ask before buying: Can we buy the newsletter separately, edit the full issue and require approval before sending?
Primary evidence: Official alternate product page.
The retained official source describes monthly content. Current product pages were inaccessible in the October 2 check; current prices, contract terms and the approval process remain unverified.
Service2Client / Mail Sprinkler
You can edit the monthly vendor-written articles, add your own material or commission a custom piece. Ask which work is included in the quote and which costs extra.
Ask before buying: What does a custom article cost, who reviews it, and how long before a send can we make changes?
Primary evidence: CPA newsletter product.
Constant Contact
Budget for a staff member or outside writer to supply the content. Add writing, source checks, approval and production time to the platform fee when comparing costs.
Ask before buying: Which plan covers our contact count, send volume and scheduling needs, and who will prepare the copy?
Primary evidence: Plans, features and pricing.
beehiiv
If you can supply the editorial work, beehiiv provides email publishing and a public newsletter website. Check template and branding requirements against the exact plan.
Ask before buying: Can our chosen plan render the HTML and branding we need, and who owns research and approval?
Primary evidence: Plans, limits and pricing.
CPA Content+
CPA Content+ supplies articles your firm can select, edit and byline. The published allowance counts articles rather than complete issues. Budget separately for assembling the newsletter, approving it and sending it; custom article writing is also listed as an additional service.
Ask before buying: Which publication and editing rights are included, what happens to those rights on cancellation, and who assembles and sends the finished issue?
Primary evidence: Article subscriptions and additional services.
The vendor advertises customization, bylining and publication on your website, e-newsletter and social media. Confirm the license terms directly, including use after cancellation. Its annual article prices do not establish a price per finished issue or include a quoted sending service.
Who checks the tax claims and approves the send?
Ask for a dated source list and a named reviewer. Confirm whether the vendor checks editorial accuracy, supplies specialist tax review, or expects your firm to perform that review. Agree on who can pause automated delivery and what happens when guidance changes after an issue is prepared.
31 CFR §10.37 sets requirements for written advice on federal tax matters. Have your firm assess how the rule applies to the actual copy and audience. A vendor’s marketing language does not establish that assessment, and our service does not supply legal or compliance approval.
Complete illustrative short issue
What could a finished client issue look like?
Written for this guide as a proposed issue. It has not been sent to clients or approved by an accounting firm. This short preview shows the reading experience; our paid single edition has the scope described on the single-edition page.
Subject: Can you find the records behind your business expenses?
Preview text: Try a simple record check before you prepare your year-end information.
October 2026 · [Firm name]
Hello,
Before you gather your year-end information, try a small check: pick one recent business expense and find the record that supports it. Can you connect that document with the entry in your books?
Good records help you prepare financial statements and tax returns and support the figures you report. The IRS recordkeeping guide says you may choose a system suited to your business that clearly shows income and expenses. Your business activity affects which records you need.
Here is a practical way to review your process:
- Find the supporting document for the expense you chose.
- Check where it is stored and how you connect it with your books.
- Write down any gap or question you want to discuss with us.
This exercise is a starting point for a conversation about your records. It does not determine whether an expense is deductible or how long a particular document must be kept.
Your next step: Try the check this week. If you cannot find the record or are unsure what your business should keep, reply with your question so we can discuss your situation. Please do not attach financial records to the reply; ask us how to share them.
Best,
[Firm name] team
- Audience and draft date
- US small-business clients of an accounting firm. Illustrative draft prepared October 2, 2026; [Firm name] is a placeholder.
- Source notes
- IRS: Recordkeeping, checked October 2, 2026; the source shows a May 1, 2026 review date. Supports the purpose of records, a system showing income and expenses, and the effect of business activity on records needed. The three-step exercise is an illustrative editorial suggestion, not an IRS checklist. No retention period or deduction eligibility is asserted.
- Approver and sending status
- No firm approver is assigned to this illustration. Before using it, the firm names an approver to review wording, audience, sender identity, reply handling and contact instructions. No legal or compliance approval is claimed.
For issue formats and planning guidance, see accounting newsletter examples. For a complete edition written for your firm, see the $500 single edition.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between custom writing, shared content and newsletter software?
Custom writing starts with your firm and audience. Shared editorial content starts with vendor-written articles that you select or adapt. Software provides editing and delivery tools. A provider can combine these models, so ask what is included in the exact plan and what your staff must do.
What does a CPA client newsletter service cost?
Compare the total scope: writing, revisions, design, contact limits, setup, sending and your staff time. Several vendor prices remain unverified in this guide. Our published offer is $500 for one edition, $750/month for 2 editions, or $1,500/month for weekly delivery. The single edition excludes ESP setup and sending.
Who should approve tax content before a newsletter is sent?
Give your firm a named approver and agree on a review step before delivery is enabled. Ask the vendor who checks facts, what sources are supplied, and whether specialist review is included. Editorial checking and legal or compliance approval have different scopes; our standard offer excludes legal or compliance approval.
Can ChatGPT or Jasper help write a CPA newsletter?
They can help with ideas, outlines and drafts. Assign someone to open the cited primary sources, check dates and claims, edit for your audience and approve the finished issue. Compare that staff workload and the sending platform cost with a service that supplies researched copy. No AI output or vendor label establishes approval for your firm.
Use drafting tools for outlines, alternatives and subject-line ideas. Open every generated citation and confirm that it supports the claim. Check the current ChatGPT plans or Jasper plans for seat and billing limits; budget separately for an editor, a firm approver, an ESP and the person operating it.
Evaluate one edition before choosing a cadence
Our single edition costs $500. We deliver it within seven business days after complete intake. Research starts after verified payment. You receive researched copy, source notes, branded HTML and plain text, and one revision round. Your firm provides final approval and sends the single edition.